A Friday Post: Adaptive Leadership

So I am day 5 into the blogging challenge from my colleague, Chip Houston, and I am wondering what to share. If you haven’t noticed, my blog posts tend to be lengthy where I am working through or sharing thoughts in a more comprehensive manner. Chip has encouraged me to think about just putting something quick up and not worry about fully developing a thought or idea. Here goes…

Heifetz, Grashow, and Linsky’s The Practice of Adaptive Leadership (2009) is a favorite of mine. I have found applications from the book to my professional life as a leader and a teacher as well as my personal life. I like that they focus on leading for change requiring both inspiration and perspiration– no-brainer. I like that they couple compete and collaborate in the same sentence, stating we need to find better ways to do both. I like that they urge us to look backward and forward at the same time; each view informs the other.

The key concept revolves around:

How Might We “…sift through the wisdom and know-how of their heritage, to take the best from their histories, leave behind lessons that no longer serve them, and innovate, not for change’s sake, but for the sake of conserving and preserving the values and competence they find most essential and precious.”

So short and sweet is not truly short, but the essential idea here is sweet!

Leave a Reply

