Speed Date to Build Culture

Today I participated in a wonderful exercise to build a team culture. Any time new members are added to a team, a reset button needs to be pushed to set the conditions for the team to build itself differently than what was there before. In five-minute “dates,” I was able to connect with a number of fellow team members around the following questions:

  1.  What is your primary role?
  2. What is your greatest strength?
  3. What do you need from me to be successful this school year?

I thoroughly enjoyed each and every conversation. I learned and connected more deeply, not only with teammates with whom I have worked before but also new ones. I came away with ideas of how I can contribute to their individual growth and the team’s collective growth.

When was the last time your team hit the reset button? Has it been too long? Even if you are working with the same people, is there a need for a reset?

Leave a Reply

