To Sleep, Perchance to Dream

I am a sleep fanatic when it comes to my two boys. They have early bedtimes compared to most of their friends: 7:30 for my 8 year-old and 8:30 for my 13 year-old this past year. For this coming year, my young rising 3rd grader (Yikes) will progress up to 7:45, and my now 14 year-old, rising 8th grader (Double Yikes) will move up to 8:45.  Every now and then I hear a slight whine, yet most of the time I hear gratitude and confirmation that they like the amount of sleep they get.

I was thrilled to read about the latest report on how much sleep children and teens need.  Vindication!  But why is it so difficult for agencies and organizations to act on these recommendations? The cynic in me observes that the almighty dollar gets in the way of sporting clubs ending practices and games early. After all, they can not begin these activities until after school is out, and there are only so many hours in the day.  The clash of restricted available spaces for activities also leads some to forget whom they are serving.

I dream for the day when those agencies and groups who serve children think of their user and his/her needs first and foremost instead of starting with the constraints of time and space. After all, creativity loves constraint!

One thought on “To Sleep, Perchance to Dream

  1. We are like different people when we get the right amount of sleep!!! Unfortunately we have become a culture who thrives on being busy at all hours and many see this as an accomplishment.

Leave a Reply

